The Seven Sages (Ursa Major): Unveiling the Secrets of the Sapta Rishi Mandala

sapta rishi mandala in all four seasons

Sapta Rishi Mandala / Ursa Major:

The night sky holds countless wonders, and for millennia, humanity has looked to the stars to tell stories, guide journeys, and even predict the future. In Indian mythology, a specific cluster of stars holds immense significance – the Sapta Rishi Mandala, literally translating to the “Mandala of the Seven Sages.” The Sapta Rishi Mandala is not just a constellation; it also represents the seven stars of the Chariot of Dharma (righteousness) in Hinduism. Also observing the constellation is considered auspicious, and some believe it brings blessings and good fortune.

Why the Name? A Story from the Vedas

sapta rishi mandala sages

The Vedas, the ancient scriptures of Hinduism, tell the tale of the Saptarishi. These seven sages, revered for their wisdom and spiritual knowledge, were believed to be the first mind-born sons of Brahma, the creator god. They played a pivotal role in shaping the universe and transmitting sacred knowledge to humanity. The constellation reflects their importance and serves as a celestial representation of these sages. These seven sages, considered the “mind-born sons” of Brahma, the creator god, are shown below:

  • Marichi: Renowned for his immense knowledge and meditation practices.
  • Atri: Celebrated for his devotion to his wife Anasuya, who attained such purity that even the three main gods, Brahma, Vishnu, and Shiva, could not trick her.
  • Angirasa: Acknowledged for his profound knowledge of medicine and astronomy.
  • Bharadwaja: Revered for his contributions to the Vedas and his role in guiding several kings.
  • Vashistha: Credited as the family priest of the Ikshvaku dynasty, prominent in Ramayana.
  • Pulastya: Known for his role in creating various celestial beings and tribes.
  • Pulaha: Said to have created several celestial beings and communities.

The seven sages, embodiments of wisdom and righteousness, were believed to have lived in an ethereal realm known as the “Mahat Lok” or “the plane of Great Light.” However, their journey intertwined with the formation of the cosmos. According to some narratives, the Sapta Rishi, along with their wives, were tasked with driving the chariot of Dharma (righteousness) across the celestial expanse. This chariot, pulled by seven divine horses, symbolized the importance of upholding moral principles in the universe.

English Name and Recognition in Other Cultures

The Sapta Rishi Mandala is more commonly known in the West as Ursa Major, the Great Bear. Interestingly, this constellation finds mention across various cultures with unique interpretations, each adding a layer of wonder to its celestial legacy. Activity books in Amazon can be tried by children to enhance their visualization skills. Try this activity book at Amazon

ursa major constellation also known as sapta rishi mandala

Greek Mythology: The Greeks saw it as Callisto, a nymph transformed into a bear by Zeus’ jealous wife, Hera. Her son, Arcas, became the Little Bear (Ursa Minor) eternally chasing her across the night sky. Click on this link to buy a book on Greek Mythology about Sapta rishi Mandala from Amazon to know the complete story.

Chinese Mythology: In China, it’s known as Beidou, the “Seven Stars of the North,” used for navigation and timekeeping.

Ursa Major and Ursa Minor Constellations
seven stars constellation known as beidou in chinese culture
Ursa Major in Chinese Mythology

Formation Theories:

The majestic Ursa Major, estimated to be 79 light-years distant, is a product of stellar birth. Imagine a giant cloud of dust and gas, millions of times bigger than our sun. This cloud is called a giant molecular cloud, and it’s where stars are born. Millions of years ago, one such cloud collapsed under its own weight, like a deflating balloon. This collapse squeezed the gas and dust so much that it got super hot and started glowing, creating lots of new stars. These stars stuck together by their gravity, eventually forming the recognizable Ursa Major constellation we see today. Some other stars might have even joined the group later on, making it a bit of a mixed family. Scientists are still learning more about how Ursa Major formed, but we know it started with a giant cloud and a big collapse!

Viewing Ursa Major (Sapta Rishi Mandala) with the Naked Eye:

Here’s a step-by-step guide to find and observe the Ursa Major constellation:

1. Find a good observing location:

  • Choose a location with minimal light pollution. Head outside city centers or areas with bright streetlights, preferably to a park, open field, or rural area.
  • Wait for a clear night. Cloudy skies will obstruct your view of the stars.
  • Observe during the right time. Ursa Major is visible throughout the year in the Northern Hemisphere, but it’s highest in the sky during spring (March-May). The constellation’s position changes throughout the night, so check a stargazing app for specific timings in your location.

2. Locate the Big Dipper:

  • The easiest way to find Ursa Major is to look for the Big Dipper, a prominent asterism within the constellation. It resembles a large ladle or saucepan with a handle.
  • Look for seven bright stars forming the bowl and handle of the Big Dipper.

3. Identify the individual stars:

  • The two stars at the outer edge of the Dipper’s bowl are Dubhe and Merak.
  • Imagine a line connecting these two stars and extend it outwards about five times the distance between them. This line will lead you to Polaris, the North Star, which is part of the Ursa Minor constellation.
  • You can use other stars in the Big Dipper to “star hop” to other constellations. For example, extending the curve of the handle towards the horizon will lead you to the bright star Arcturus in the constellation Boötes.

4. Enhance your observation (optional):

  • While naked eye observation is sufficient, use your peripheral vision to improve your ability to see fainter stars. Look slightly to the side of the constellation instead of directly at it.
  • Adapt your eyes to darkness. Avoid looking at bright lights before observing for several minutes to allow your eyes to adjust to the low light conditions.

Additional Tips:

  • Download a stargazing app like Stellarium or Sky Map to help you identify constellations and stars in your location and time.
  • Consider joining a stargazing club or event in your area for a guided tour of the night sky and to learn more about constellations.
  • Be patient and persistent. The night sky can be overwhelming at first, but with practice, you’ll be able to identify more constellations and stars effortlessly.

Remember, patience and a clear sky are key to successfully observing Ursa Major and appreciating its celestial beauty!. A good guide on how to find constellations is available on Amazon. Click on this link to know its price


The Sapta Rishi Mandala holds a profound place in human consciousness. It serves as a testament to the enduring power of storytelling, the reverence for wisdom, and the universal yearning to understand our place in the vast cosmos. As we gaze upon the constellation, it stands as a reminder of the legacy of the seven sages and the principles they embody: righteousness, knowledge, and the pursuit of enlightenment.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *